Sponsored By:
Learn More About Our Sponsors »

Tickets & 2016/2017 Shark Pass
Learn More »

Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
presented by Greg Norman Estates
Learn More »

Official Broadcast Partners
View Schedule »

Twenty-Four PGA TOUR Stars
Prepare For The Franklin Templeton Shootout

Field Includes 11 Participants in 2010 Ryder Cup Matches

NAPLES, Fla. (Oct. 15, 2010) - Tournament host Greg Norman announced today the field for the 22nd edition of The Franklin Templeton Shootout which returns for the 10th consecutive year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples December 8-12.

World No. 5 Steve Stricker returns to Tiburón to defend his title with partner Jerry Kelly.

As a whole, the field for this year's Shootout has enjoyed tremendous success this season through individual efforts and Ryder Cup performances. As a group, they have amassed 154 total career victories.

"This might be the most dynamic field we have ever had," said Norman. "To a man, these players have brought excitement to the game of golf throughout the season and throughout their careers. I am excited for the fans and our international television audience because I expect they will see some great golf come December."

The 24 players will be paired into 12, two-man teams. Those pairings will be announced in a few weeks. The team of Steve Stricker & Jerry Kelly returns as defending champions.

For starters, 11 players coming to Naples participated in the Ryder Cup two weeks ago--Stewart Cink, Darren Clarke, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Davis Love III, Graeme McDowell, Jeff Overton, Ian Poulter, Stricker and Bubba Watson. McDowell's singles win clinched victory for the European team while Fowler's performance in the final four holes of his singles match ignited a near-comeback by the United States team.

Eight players have won on the PGA TOUR so far this year. Johnson and Stricker are two-time winners while Jason Day, Anthony Kim, Kuchar, McDowell, Poulter and Watson have each earned one title.

Young stars Dustin Johnson and Graeme McDowell head a field featuring 11 participants in the 2010 Ryder Cup matches.

Another eight competitors have won major championship titles--David Duval, Mark Calcavecchia, Cink, Justin Leonard, Love, McDowell, Norman and Mike Weir.

Six competitors, led by Stricker (No. 5), are among the top 20 on the Official World Golf Ranking. Kuchar is currently 11th, Johnson 12th, McDowell 13th, Poulter 15th and Kim 20th. This is an impressive percentage given the limited field of 24 players.

On the PGA TOUR's Career Money List, six of the players coming to Naples are among the top 12 led by Love and followed by Kenny Perry, Leonard, Cink, Stricker and Weir.

In total, five individuals will be competing in their first Franklin Templeton Shootout: K.J. Choi, Clarke, Day, Overton and Weir. Also, Duval and Love will be making their first appearance in Naples.

Throughout its history, the Shootout has included many of golf's greatest players.

The Franklin Templeton Shootout, widely regarded as the PGA TOUR's premier post-season event, will once again feature a modified alternate-shot format during the first round, a better ball Saturday and a final-round scramble. This year, Golf Channel will televise Friday and NBC will broadcast the weekend competition.

Alphabetical List of Participating Professionals

Mark Calcavecchia Dustin Johnson Jeff Overton
K.J. Choi Jerry Kelly Kenny Perry
Darren Clarke Anthony Kim Ian Poulter
Jason Day Matt Kuchar Rory Sabbatini
Chris DiMarco Justin Leonard Steve Stricker
David Duval Davis Love III Scott Verplank
Rickie Fowler Graeme McDowell Bubba Watson
Fred Funk Greg Norman Mike Weir

Tickets for The Franklin Templeton Shootout are now on sale. Orders can be placed several ways - calling 888-66-SHARK, online at www.thesharkshootout.com, or by visiting the PGA TOUR Superstore, Lumpy's in Fort Myers or The Golf Shop at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.

For the latest Franklin Templeton Shootout news and information, please visit the official tournament website at www.thesharkshootout.com.


About Franklin Templeton Investments
Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments. Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management to retail, institutional and sovereign wealth clients in over 180 countries. Through specialized teams, the company has expertise across all asset classes—including equity, fixed income, alternative and custom solutions. The company’s more than 600 investment professionals are supported by its integrated, worldwide team of risk management professionals and global trading desk network. With offices in 35 countries, the California–based company has more than 65 years of investment experience and over $733 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2016.
About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
The Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its exceptional personalized service, inventive cuisine and luxurious accommodations, with panoramic views of the adjacent Greg Norman-designed Tiburón Golf Club. The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as one of the top hotels in the U.S. by U.S. New & World Report is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón. The course is the host location for both the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout, held in December and the LPGA’s CME Group Tour Championship, held in November.  

Click here to return to The Franklin Templeton Shootout News Index.

©Franklin Templeton Shootout. Tournament Managed by Wasserman Events, LLC. All Rights Reserved.