Sponsored By:
Learn More About Our Sponsors »

Tickets & 2016/2017 Shark Pass
Learn More »

Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
presented by Greg Norman Estates
Learn More »

Official Broadcast Partners
View Schedule »

First Round News & Notes

First-round results from the $3.1 million Franklin Templeton Shootout…Thursday, December 8, 2016...7,271-yard, par 36-36--72, Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples, FL...54-hole PGA TOUR-sanctioned event featuring 12 two-man teams with a different format each day…Today’s format was a Scramble…Thursday’s weather: Partly cloudy with highs in the mid-70s. WNW wind 10-15 mph. Friday’s forecast – A chance of lingering morning showers with highs in the upper-60s. NNE wind 10-15 mph with occasional higher gusts.


1.Jerry Kelly/Steve Stricker28-28—56(-16)
2.Harris English/Matt Kuchar28-29—57(-15)
3.Charles Howell III/Rory Sabbatini31-28—59(-13)
T4.Kevin Chappell/Kevin Kisner29-31—60(-12)
T4.Luke Donald/Russell Knox32-28—60(-12)
T4.Jason Dufner/Brandt Snedeker29-31—60(-12)
7Charley Hoffman/Billy Horschel31-30—61(-11)
8.Bryson DeChambeau/Lexi Thompson31-31—62(-10)
T9.Daniel Berger/K.J. Choi30-33—63(-9)
T9.Mike Weir/Gary Woodland31-32—63(-9)
T9.Sean O’Hair/Kenny Perry31-32—63(-9)
T9.Smylie Kaufman/Justin Thomas32-31—63(-9)


  • PGA TOUR veterans Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker got off to a blazing start in the opening round of the 28th Franklin Templeton Shootout, firing a 16-under-par 56 in the scramble format. The duo’s effort fell just one stroke shy of the 18-hole scoring record for this format. Greg Norman and Nick Price set the mark in 1993 and it was later matched by three teams, including Jason Day & Cameron Tringale in 2014.
  • Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker’s first-round scorecard included one eagle, 14 birdies and three pars. Their eagle came on No. 6 when Stricker drained a 60-foot putt. Kelly added a 30-footer for birdie on the following hole.
  • After not competing a year ago, Jerry Kelly is making his 11th appearance in the tournament. Kelly and Steve Stricker are teamed up for a record eighth time in the event. The pair won this tournament in 2009 and Kelly was also victorious in 2006 with Rod Pampling.
  • The team of Harris English and Matt Kuchar continue to be the most consistent pairing in this event since joining forces in 2013. The pair won the title in 2013 in their first year together and have been runners-up the past two years. They posted a 15-under-par 57 on Thursday and trail by one stroke.
  • Since the first-round format was changed to a scramble in 2014, the team of Harris English and Matt Kuchar are a combined 42-under-par with scores of 57-58-59 in that span. When they won this event in 2013 they finished with a 54-hole score of 34-under-par 182 and a record-tying seven strokes ahead of Retief Goosen and Freddie Jacobson.
  • The youngest team in the field – Lexi Thompson (21) and Bryson DeChambeau (23) – posted a 10- under-par 62 and are currently eighth overall. Thompson, a seven-time winner on the LPGA, is just the second woman to compete in the event. Annika Sorenstam teamed with Fred Couples in 2006.
  • This year’s field includes players representing six different countries. They include South Korea (K.J. Choi), Canada (Mike Weir), England (Luke Donald), Scotland (Russell Knox), South Africa (Rory Sabbatini) and the United States.
  • Competitors in this year’s Franklin Templeton Shootout have amassed 106 victories, including 99 on the PGA TOUR and seven on the LPGA Tour. Kenny Perry owns 14 of those wins on Tour, two more than Steve Stricker.
  • There are seven new teams competing this year, including eight players making their debuts in this tournament. The new teams are Bryson DeChambeau/Lexi Thompson; Smylie Kaufman/Justin Thomas; Kevin Chappell/Kevin Kisner; Daniel Berger/K.J. Choi; Luke Donald/Russell Knox; Jerry Kelly/Steve Stricker; Charley Hoffman/Billy Horschel.
  • Two players in this year’s field competed at the recent Rio Olympics. Matt Kuchar was a bronze medalist in the men’s competition and Lexi Thompson finished T17 in the women’s competition.
  • Two former FedEx Cup winners are among the 24-player field. Brandt Snedeker won the title in 2012, while Billy Horschel prevailed in 2014.
  • Kenny Perry, who is paired with Sean O’Hair, is playing in his 14th Franklin Templeton Shootout, the most by any of the 24 players entered. Perry has won more money in this event than any other player, earning $1,993,957. Perry is a three-time winner of the tournament and all three were with a different partner. He teamed with Sean O’Hair in 2012, Scott Hoch in 2008 and John Huston in 2005.
  • Nine players in the field earned a total of 10 victories during the 2015-2016 season: Charley Hoffman, Daniel Berger, Justin Thomas, Kevin Kisner, Jason Dufner, Russell Knox (two wins), Brandt Snedeker and Smylie Kaufman. In addition, Lexi Thompson won the LPGA’s Honda LPGA Thailand. Thomas recently defended his CIMB Classic title in Malaysia.
  • Eight players in the field are ranked among the top 50 in the Official World Golf Rankings: Russell Knox (No.18), Matt Kuchar (No. 20), Justin Thomas (No. 22), Brandt Snedeker (No. 27), Kevin Chappell (No. 30), Daniel Berger (No. 31), Gary Woodland (No. 48) Kevin Kisner (No. 49).
  • Eleven players have won the Franklin Templeton Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014).
  • Eight players forming four new teams are competing for the first time in the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Bryson DeChambeau & Lexi Thompson; Smylie Kaufman & Justin Thomas; Kevin Chappell & Kevin Kisner; Luke Donald & Russell Knox.
  • Three players in the field were involved in the 2016 Ryder Cup. Competing from the victorious United States’ team are Matt Kuchar and Brandt Snedeker along with assistant captain Steve Stricker.
  • Friday’s format will be Modified Alternate Shot. Each player hits a drive on every hole and one is selected. The player whose drive is not selected hits the second shot and they alternate shots until the ball is in the hole.


About Franklin Templeton Investments
Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments. Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management to retail, institutional and sovereign wealth clients in over 180 countries. Through specialized teams, the company has expertise across all asset classes—including equity, fixed income, alternative and custom solutions. The company’s more than 600 investment professionals are supported by its integrated, worldwide team of risk management professionals and global trading desk network. With offices in 35 countries, the California–based company has more than 65 years of investment experience and over $733 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2016.
About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
The Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its exceptional personalized service, inventive cuisine and luxurious accommodations, with panoramic views of the adjacent Greg Norman-designed Tiburón Golf Club. The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as one of the top hotels in the U.S. by U.S. New & World Report is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón. The course is the host location for both the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout, held in December and the LPGA’s CME Group Tour Championship, held in November.  

Click here to return to The Franklin Templeton Shootout News Index.

©Franklin Templeton Shootout. Tournament Managed by Wasserman Events, LLC. All Rights Reserved.