Sponsored By:
Franklin Templeton
Learn More About Our Sponsors »
2013 / 2014 Shark Pass
Learn More »

Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
Presented by Greg Norman Estates
Register Starting Oct 4th »

Stay Connected With The Shootout

Sean O'Hair & Kenny Perry Win Shootout

Final Round Recap
Final Round Game Story

NAPLES, Fla. -- Kenny Perry and Sean O'Hair birdied five of the last six holes to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout on Sunday.

Perry and O'Hair became the seventh second-round leaders to go on to win the tournament in the last 12 years.

The 52-year-old Perry became the oldest player to win the Shootout, and also won for the third time with a different partner. He won with John Huston in 2005 and Scott Hoch in 2008. Perry joins Steve Elkington, Fred Couples, Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron with three Shootout wins; Elkington and Couples also won with three different partners.

"All three have been different," Perry said of his Shootout victories. "John and I were pretty even partners, and then the year Scott and I won, I played fantastic that week. ... This year, my roles have been reversed, and I was complementing Sean."

"I think that was kind of the best thing about this was just we had a ton of fun, just like being a kid enjoying what you're doing," O'Hair said.

Rory Sabbatini and Charles Howell III made a charge on the back nine that included an eagle on a par 4 but finished one stroke back at 30-under 186. They had a 15-under 57 in the scramble format in the final round on the Gold Course at Tiburón Golf Club.

"We played really well and gave ourselves a lot of opportunities," Sabbatini said. "We put a good number up there and that's all we can really do. We had a lot of fun and Charles hit the ball fantastically."

Jason Dufner and Vijay Singh finished third at 28 under.

Perry and O'Hair became the seventh second-round leaders to go on to win the tournament in the last 12 years. While other teams were making charges at them, and sometimes briefly catching them, they had fewer holes left to play than Perry and O'Hair.

"I knew they were going to probably catch up to us at some point, but I knew we had holes to catch back up to them," Perry said. "You can't really get too far ahead of yourself out there in that field. You just kind of play each hole."

Stewart Cink and Carl Pettersson, first-round leaders Davis Love III and Brandt Snedeker, and 2009 champions Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker were another shot back in a tie for fourth.

Love and Snedeker could never get going.

"We put the ball in the fairway all day, but never really got close into the greens," Love said. "We were 15 to 30 feet all day today, and we weren't as sharp this weekend as we were Friday."

Perry and O'Hair led by two shots going into the final round. They will split $750,000 of the $3 million purse.

1Sean O'Hair & Kenny Perry -8 -11 -12 -31$375,000 each
2Charles Howell III & Rory Sabbatini -6 -9 -15 -30 $235,000 each
3Jason Dufner & Vijay Singh -6-9 -13 -28 $140,000 each
T4 Jerry Kelly & Steve Stricker -4 -9 -14 -27 $97,500 each
T4 Stewart Cink & Carl Pettersson -5 -10 -12 -27 $97,500 each
T4 Davis Love III & Brandt Snedeker -10 -7 -10 -27 $97,500 each
T7 Keegan Bradley & Brendan Steele -5 -8 -12 -25 $81,250 each
T7 Dustin Johnson & Ian Poulter -5 -7 -13 -25 $81,250 each
9Bud Cauley & Rickie Fowler -6 -5 -9 -20$77,500 each
10 Justin Leonard & Scott Verplank -2 -5 -9 -16 $75,000 each
11 Fredrik Jacobson & Greg Norman E -4 -9 -13 $72,500 each
12Mark Calcavecchia & Mike Weir -2 -1 -7 -10$70,000 each


About Franklin Templeton Investments
Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments.  Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management solutions managed by its Franklin, Templeton, Mutual Series, Fiduciary Trust, Darby and Bissett investment teams.  The San Mateo, CA-based company has more than 60 years of investment experience and over $749 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2012. .  For more information, visit franklintempleton.com.
About Tiburón Golf Club
Tiburón Golf Club, a WCI managed facility, featuring two Greg Norman-designed golf courses, was carved from 800 acres of prime southwest Florida real estate. The courses reflect Norman’s appreciation for pristine natural settings and his passion for great golf. The Black and The Gold courses contain a combination of stacked sod-wall bunkers and tricky coquina waste bunkers. Certified as an Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary by Audubon International, Tiburón reflects a strong commitment to enhancing and protecting the natural resources.
About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
The AAA Five Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its outstanding service, incredible cuisine and luxurious accommodations with panoramic views.  The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as the top golf resort in Florida by Golf Digest (October 2009), is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón.
About Greg Norman Production Company
The Greg Norman Production Company (GNPC), a subsidiary of Great White Shark Enterprises, is devoted to event management and sports marketing. The GNPC is proud to operate the PGA TOUR-sanctioned Mayakoba Golf Classic, Franklin Templeton Shootout, Valero Texas Open, GolfPARatodos, Three Friends: One Goal, Greg Norman Estates events and many other corporate and special events. The GNPC prides itself on producing events and marketing initiatives that not only reflect the discerning standards of its namesake, but of its clients as well.


Lee Patterson
The Franklin Templeton Shootout

Click here to return to The Franklin Templeton Shootout News Index.

©Franklin Templeton Shootout. A Greg Norman Production Company Event. All Rights Reserved.