In This Issue
Congratulations To Sean O'Hair And Kenny Perry
Champions of the 2012 Franklin Templeton Shootout
In the final round of the 2012 Franklin Templeton Shootout Kenny Perry and Sean O'Hair birdied five of the last six holes to earn them the victory. While it is the first Shootout win for O'Hair it was the third time his partner had hoisted the trophy. Perry won with John Huston in 2005 and Scott Hoch in 2008. Perry joins Steve Elkington, Fred Couples, Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron with three Shootout wins; Elkington and Couples also won with three different partners. "All three have been different," Perry said of his Shootout victories. "John and I were pretty even partners, and then the year Scott and I won, I played fantastic that week. This year, my roles have been reversed, and I was complementing Sean."

"I think that was kind of the best thing about this was just we had a ton of fun, just like being a kid enjoying what you're doing," O'Hair said.

Rory Sabbatini and Charles Howell III made a charge on the back nine that included an eagle on a par 4 but finished one stroke back at 30-under 186. They had a 15-under 57 in the scramble format in the final round on the Gold Course at Tiburón Golf Club. "We played really well and gave ourselves a lot of opportunities," Sabbatini said. "We put a good number up there and that's all we can really do. We had a lot of fun and Charles hit the ball fantastically."

Jason Dufner and Vijay Singh finished third at 28 under.

Perry and O'Hair became the seventh second-round leaders to go on to win the tournament in the last 12 years. While other teams were making charges at them, and sometimes briefly catching them, they had fewer holes left to play than Perry and O'Hair.

"I knew they were going to probably catch up to us at some point, but I knew we had holes to catch back up to them," Perry said. "You can't really get too far ahead of yourself out there in that field. You just kind of play each hole."

Stewart Cink and Carl Pettersson, first-round leaders Davis Love III and Brandt Snedeker, and 2009 champions Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker were another shot back in a tie for fourth.

Visit for more images and a full recap of the week.

1Sean O'Hair & Kenny Perry -8 -11 -12 -31$375,000 each
2Charles Howell III & Rory Sabbatini -6 -9 -15 -30 $235,000 each
3Jason Dufner & Vijay Singh -6-9 -13 -28 $140,000 each
T4 Jerry Kelly & Steve Stricker -4 -9 -14 -27 $97,500 each
T4 Stewart Cink & Carl Pettersson -5 -10 -12 -27 $97,500 each
T4 Davis Love III & Brandt Snedeker -10 -7 -10 -27 $97,500 each
T7 Keegan Bradley & Brendan Steele -5 -8 -12 -25 $81,250 each
T7 Dustin Johnson & Ian Poulter -5 -7 -13 -25 $81,250 each
9Bud Cauley & Rickie Fowler -6 -5 -9 -20$77,500 each
10 Justin Leonard & Scott Verplank -2 -5 -9 -16 $75,000 each
11 Fredrik Jacobson & Greg Norman E -4 -9 -13 $72,500 each
12Mark Calcavecchia & Mike Weir -2 -1 -7 -10$70,000 each
The 4th Annual Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
Jesse Armbruster is no stranger to the finish line of the Franklin Templeton Shootout 5k. Jesse was this year's overall winner and now 4-time defending champion of the 5k. In the female division Erin Kendall of Naples finished in 1st place with a time of 18:27.2.

In the Grand Master's category Lenny Mustari (19:26:2) and Jeannie Rice (22:23.8) were the top finishers.

The 4th annual race which featured more than 400 runners was held on a self-contained course within the Tiburón Golf Club community. Runners received a free daily grounds ticket to the Shootout for participating. CureSearch for Children's Cancer was once again the charitable beneficiary of the race.

Visit for more info and pictures.
Race Sponsors

Naples, Marco Island, Everglades Convention & Visitors Bureau

Looking Ahead At 2013
Player Pass - Valid again May 1st

Do you want to play 14 of southwest Florida's best clubs for a discounted fee? Then purchase your 2012/2013 Franklin Templeton Shootout Player Pass today. A limited number of books are still available. For more info check out

Coming this Spring... 3rd Annual Franklin Templeton Shootout Summer Series

The Summer Series is an exciting summer-long event where you and your partner will experience elements of competition similar to the PGA TOUR's Franklin Templeton Shootout at six of the finest golf clubs in Southwest Florida.

The events are a two-person team competition that will take place once a month at select partner courses. During each tournament round, players will compete in the same formats featured during the Franklin Templeton Shootout-playing six holes of Modified Alternate shot, six holes of Better Ball and six holes of Scramble. Events will take place once a month May through October. For more info check out

Stay Connected with The Shootout!
We want to hear from you! Join the conversation and receive live tournament updates, go behind the scenes and take part in exciting contests!

Follow @FTShootout on Twitter and continue to like us on Facebook.